Skip to content
Computing and IT

Digital Technologies for England (Cloud Networking) HTQ

  • Course Type: Higher Technical Qualification
  • Institution Code: P56
Course overview

What can this course lead to?

The programme is designed to enable you to progress to the third year (Level 6) of our Open University BSc(Hons) Computing Science(Networking) or BSc(Hons) Computing Science degrees.

Just some of the future careers for graduates after completing the course include:

  • Desk-based engineer
  • Dynamic network engineer
  • Field-based engineer
  • Infrastructure engineer
  • Network administrator
  • Network architect
  • Network engineer
  • Systems engineer

Who is it for?

This programme is a Higher Technical Qualification which is approved by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education, and developed with employers, a Higher Technical Qualification (HTQ) from UCP offer an alternative high-quality route for you to gain the skills and knowledge needed to succeed in your career.

It is also accredited by the British Computing Society (BCS) and provides you with student membership while studying and on achievement of the qualification you will gain Associate Membership.

You will be taught the course in a modular / block delivery mode so that you can immerse yourself in two areas of learning every 7 weeks, gaining knowledge and practical skills at an advanced pace.

The Level 4 units lay the foundation of learning by providing a broad introduction to digital technologies and to a range of digital technology specialist functions. This develops and strengthens core skills, while preparing students to study specialist subjects at Level 5 or to enter employment with the qualities necessary for job roles that require some personal responsibility. Transferable skills are those such as communication, teamwork, research and analysis, which are highly valued in higher education and the workplace.

The Level 5 units give students the opportunity to specialise in a digital-technology-related occupational area and to progress to degree-level study. The units prepare students to move on to specific areas of digital technologies at Level 6 or to enter employment with the qualities and abilities necessary for roles that require personal responsibility and decision making. Students will be able to develop and apply their own ideas to their studies, to deal with uncertainty and complexity, to explore solutions, demonstrate critical evaluation and use both theory and practice in a wide range of digital technology situations.

During Level 5, you will have the opportunity to gain industry experience through a placement forming part of a unit. This experience will allow you to work in a technical environment and build on your network of industry contacts. After studying a Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Digital Technologies students will be able to progress onto the BSc Computer Science at UCP.

Employers involved in creating the standard:

IBM, Accenture, BA, BT, Capgemini, Cisco, Fujitsu, HP, John Lewis, Lloyds, Microsoft, NCA, The Royal Signals, Telefonica, The Test Factory, Virgin Media, Visa, BCS – Chartered Institute of IT

What is covered?

Each module is worth 15 credits.

Year one  (Level 4)

  • Professional Practice in the Digital Economy
  • Innovation & Digital Transformation
  • Cyber Security
  • Programming
  • Big Data & Visualisation
  • Networking in the Cloud
  • Security
  • Networking

Year two (Level 5)

  • Business Intelligence
  • Internet of Things
  • Emerging Technologies
  • Work-based Learning in the Digital Economy
  • Applied Security in the Cloud
  • Network Management
  • Digital Technology as a Catalyst for Change
  • Digital Sustainability

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

You must meet the following entry requirements:

5 GCSE grades C/4 or above, including English and Maths and 48 UCAS points, which should be from a related subject in one of the following:

  • A Levels that demonstrate a strong performance in more than one subject.
  • BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Computing, Business or Creative Media Production
  • Other related Level 3 qualifications
  • Access to Higher Education Diploma
  • Related work experience
  • Overseas qualifications are judged to be equivalent to the above

Pearson BTEC Levels 4 and 5 Higher Nationals in Digital Technologies for England Specifications – Issue 2 – May 2023. Our Recognition of Prior Learning policy means that students’ previous learning and experience can be taken into account and they may be awarded certain qualifications or units of a qualification based on that learning or experience. Please see Section 9 for more information.

Course information
Ucas Code
University Centre Peterborough
Start Date
September 2024, January 2025, September 2025 and January 2026

2 Years

Validated by
Tariff points
Apply Now

Part of the Inspire Education Group © 2024 All rights reserved

Website by Itineris